skip to content

Cambridge Digital Humanities

 

The primary aim of Machine Reading the Archive is to help participants develop a deeper understanding of the challenges and possibilities of working with archival data in the digital age, drawing on theory, methods and practice from the humanities, computer science and the archival profession.

Title Start Date location
Introduction to Text-mining with Python Thursday, 30 April, 2020 - 10:00 IT Training Room, Cambridge University Library
Mapping the Past Thursday, 7 May, 2020 - 11:00 IT Training Room, Cambridge University Library
Evolve your Python Code into a Workflow for Text-based Research Wednesday, 20 May, 2020 - 13:00 IT Training Room, Cambridge University Library
Sources to Data Wednesday, 3 June, 2020 - 11:00 IT Training Room, Cambridge University Library
Introduction to Archival Photography workshop Wednesday, 10 June, 2020 - 11:00 IT Training Room, Cambridge University Library
Machine Reading the Archive 2020 - end of programme workshop Monday, 15 June, 2020 - 11:30 B3, Institute of Criminology

Archived Events

Title Start Date location
Digital research project design for beginners Tuesday, 17 October, 2017 - 14:00 S2, Alison Richard Building
Curating your own digital archive Thursday, 16 November, 2017 - 11:00 S3, Alison Richard Building
Webscraping for beginners Tuesday, 21 November, 2017 - 14:00 B4, Criminology
How to get bulk data from websites Tuesday, 16 January, 2018 - 11:00 S3, Alison Richard Building
Turn your PDFs into searchable text Tuesday, 23 January, 2018 - 14:00
Beyond words (2): challenges in reading historical document collections at scale Tuesday, 6 February, 2018 - 11:30 Raleigh Seminar Room, Maxwell Centre, Cavendish Laboratory
Automatic Text Recognition: an introduction to Transkribus Monday, 26 March, 2018 - 14:00 S2, Alison Richard Building
Automatic Text Recognition: Diving into the background Tuesday, 27 March, 2018 - 11:00 S1, Alison Richard Building
Text-mining the archive 1 Tuesday, 24 April, 2018 - 11:00 S2, Alison Richard Building
Text-mining the archive 2 Tuesday, 1 May, 2018 - 11:00 S2, Alison Richard Building

DH Vacancies

We have no vacancies at this time.